A Fun Day with Shisho 師匠と楽しい一日

Today I went to Somemaru’s house with mezashi [dried sardines] in hand. We made breakfast and then I cleaned the house and ironed some tabi (Japanese split-toe socks) and hada juban (cotton kimono undershirt). After that I relaxed with Somemaru a bit; we watched some TV and he taught me some useful Japanese. At about 2pm we went to Umeda to do some shopping and watch the new 3D movie “Tron,” which was pretty good. He then took me out to dinner, where we had a wonderful conversation about how performing rakugo and teaching are not all that different; they require many of the same skills: good preparation, rhythm, timing, and, of course dedication. After this we did some more shopping and went back to his place to end a fine day with a hot cup of coffee.

今日は目刺を持って師匠の家に向かいました。朝食の後に家の掃除をして、足袋や肌襦袢にアイロンをかけました。それから師匠とちょっとゆっくりしました。テレビを見たりして、役に立つ日本語までも師匠が教えてくださいました。2時ごろに梅田に出かけて、買い物をしてから「トロン」という映画を見に行きました。かなり面白い映画でした。そして、外食をしながら師匠が「噺家と先生は職業としてあまり違わない」という興味深い話をしてくださいました。その中の必要な技術も似ていると。どちらも準備、リズム、間、そして、専念することが大事です。最後にもう一度ショッピングして帰りました。素敵な一日の仕上げは師匠とのホットコーヒーでした。

Comments コメント

