From Haiku to Drinking Pee 俳句からおしっこ飲みへ

This morning Somemaru brought out his calligraphy supplies, this time to design a tenugui that will come complimentary with his forthcoming book. He brushed the same haiku three times then chose the most fashionable of the three. I was thrilled to receive one of the practice copies. The English translation of the haiku is “Being made to laugh / our hearts left in high spirits / yose bayashi.”

We left for the Hanjôtei a little early, at 1:30. Before the daytime show we met in a nearby cafe with the rep from the publishing company. After that, we walked over to the yose.

Today Somemaru performed another story that I haven’t previously heard him do, Kinshû sekisho (Prohibition Checkpoint). This is a story about a samurai, who, desperate for sake, promises an incredible amount of money to a vendor if he can only get the desired goods past a tough checkpoint and to his residence. The vendor’s workers come up with various schemes, only to fail each time. Fed up with the official at the checkpoint, who is only getting more and more intoxicated on the sake he “has to” check, the vendor and his men plot revenge. “Let’s tell ’em we’re transporting piss,” one worker says. “How can we get in trouble for telling the truth?” Everybody in the house, even the women workers, is called to contribute to the cause. The huge jug of urine is then hauled to the checkpoint, and you should be able to guess what happens next.

Following the show, we went to the nearby Kamigata Rakugo Meeting Room, where Somemaru gave Somekichi his second lesson for the story Yadoya gataki (Vengence at the Inn). Thereafter we had dinner out then drove home.

Today was another nice day with Somemaru and Kamigata Rakugo.

今朝、染丸師匠が書道の道具を出して、今度の本といっしょに入るあいさつの手ぬぐいをデザインしました。同じ俳句を三回筆で書き、その中で一番おしゃれなのを選びました。師匠はその練習版一枚を僕にくださったので、とても嬉しかったです。俳句は「笑われてあと心地よき寄席ばやし」です。

ちょっと早めに、1:30に繁昌亭に向かいました。昼席の前に近くにあるカフェで出版会社の社員と会議がありました。その後は寄席まで歩きました。

今日、師匠はまだ私が聴いたことのない噺をなさいました。「禁酒関所」でした。その噺はこのような内容です。ある侍がお酒が欲しくてたまらない。その侍がある行商人にこう言います。「もしお酒を持って関所を通って、そして家まで持ってこれたら、ものすごいお金をやる。」行商人の職人はそれぞれ計画を作るが、なかなか上手くいかない。運ばれて来る隠れたお酒を没収して、それにどんどん酔っ払ってくる関所の番に腹立って、行商人たちは敵討ちの計画として「酒ではなく、小便を運んでいますと言ったらええ」と考えだし、「本当のことを言ったら何も悪くない」というわけ。行商人の家のもの全員、女性職人も含むて、計画通りするよう言われる。尿の入った大きいつぼを関所まで運び、その後、何が起こるかはご想像の通りです。

昼席の後は近くにある上方落語協会の会議室に行って、そこで師匠は染吉さんに「宿屋敵」の二回目のお稽古をつけました。その後は外食のディナーをして、車で帰りました。

今日もまた、染丸師匠と上方落語と、ナイスデーでした。

Comments コメント

