Some Rakugo and Religion 落語と宗教について少し

Today Aisome had the day off, so it was just me at Somemaru’s. There were no shows on the schedule for today, so it was a laid-back day. I took care of my daily chores as usual, and observed a rakugo lesson. I walked to a local shrine with Somemaru, and went grocery shopping on the way home. Finally, I helped prepare dinner, which was kasujiru (sake-lees soup). This has become one of my favorite dishes that Somemaru makes.

Today’s lesson was given to Someta, his second session for the story Fugu-nabe (Blowfish Hotpot). I thought Someta did a great job telling the story; it didn’t appear that he had any problems with memorization, etc. After the story however, Somemaru spent about an hour lecturing Someta on not only how much work he has to do to improve this story, but also improve himself as a lifetime hanashika. There was little to no praise for the 10-year veteran today, but I also realize that Somemaru spent as much time as he did on his critique because he truly cares about Someta, and wants to see him too develop into a master of the art as the years go by.

Shortly after the lesson Somemaru, Someta, and I walked to the nearby Tarumi Shrine (Maruyama-chô, Osaka).

This is where Somemaru goes each year for his “first shrine visit” (hatsu môde). Each year he is sure to pick up a Commutation Saftey (kôtsû anzen) amulet. Somemaru says that it is important to visit shrines and temples near your home, as the gods that reside there are closest to you, and can better serve to protect you. To ignore the presence of local tutelary deities might bring about some kind of disaster.

Since I am here in Japan for research, I bought an amulet to help me in my studies (bengaku jôju).

今日、愛染さんは休みだったので、僕は一人で師匠の家に行かせていただきました。今日師匠もお休みだったので、楽な一日でした。普段通りの用事をして、落語のお稽古を見学させていただきました。師匠と近所にある神社まで散歩して、帰りにスーパーで買い物しました。夕食に粕汁を作るのを手伝い、師匠がする料理の中でこれは特に好きになってしまいました。

今日のお稽古は染太さん、「ふぐ鍋」の2回目でした。染太さんは噺を完全に覚えていた様子でしたが、染太さんが語り終わったら、師匠が一時間ほど染太さんにもっと稽古しないといけないと言い、一生噺家として続けるのにどういう風に上達していったらいいかについてもレクチャーをなさいました。10年のベテランである染太さんに師匠からの褒め言葉はほとんどなかったのですが、やはり、師匠がこんなに時間をかけて指導するということは、染太さんのことを大事に思っているからでしょう。今後染太さんに名人になって欲しいというお気持ちの表れだと思いました。

お稽古の後、師匠と染太さんと一緒に近くにある垂水神社(大阪丸山町)まで歩きました。毎年、師匠はこの神社で初詣をします。そのときに必ず交通安全の御守りをお授けもらいます。師匠が言うには、家の近くにある寺社に行かなければいけないとのことでした。なぜならば、そこにいる神様は家に一番近いから、より良く守ってくれるんです。確かに氏神を無視したら、何か災いでもあるかもしれません。

僕は研究のために来日しているので、勉学成就の御守りを授けてもらいました。

Comments コメント

