Terrible Japanese and Calligraphy むちゃくちゃな日本語と習字

Somemaru is headlining at the daytime (hiruseki) show practically every day this week, so today was much like the previous hiruseki days that I wrote about.

Today Aisome departed early for the Hanjôtei. After he left Somemaru couldn’t find one of his personal seals, with which he wanted stamp a piece of artwork. I sent a text message to Aisome to see if he knew of its whereabouts. He did, so followed up with a thank-you text. His reply was, “I’ve been thinking lately, your Japanese is really a mess! Calm down a bit before you send messages…” Ouch. Before responding I checked my previous text, which was along the lines of “Thank you very mwaah!” (doimo arigatô gozaimasita). I could then only respond with an “I’m sorry, I’ll work on it.”

Perhaps in response to this, after a good laugh, Somemaru sat me down for a lesson in Japanese calligraphy. I’ve been using cheap calligraphy brush-pens to write letters for years, but I found out today that I was using them incorrectly all along. I had a great time, and learned a lot about brush-writing. Now I just need to practice! Thank you very much Somemaru.

After this we made our way to the Hanjôtei. Somemaru performed the story Nedoko (The [Stolen] Bed). After the show Somemaru invited the entire cast and crew out to dinner at a nearby restaurant. We got home by 7pm and ended the day with tea and cake.

今週、染丸師匠はほとんど毎日繁昌亭の昼席のトリをなさっているので、今日はこの前の昼席の日に似ているような一日でした。

今日、愛染さんは早めに繁昌亭に出かけました。その後すぐ、師匠が印鑑が見つからなかったので、僕は愛染さんの携帯にメールを送ってみました。印鑑のゆくえを教えてくれたので、お礼のメールを送りました。愛染さんの返事は「こないだから気になってたけど、日本語むちゃくちゃやで。落ち着いてメール送りや。」と。イタッ。それにお返事する前に、さっき送ったメールをチェックしました。やっぱりおかしかった。「どいもありがとうございました。」ということで、謝るしかなかったです。

僕のミスについて師匠と一緒に笑って、その後師匠は僕の日本語の勉強に役立つことを教えてくださいました。習字のお稽古をつけてくださったのです。何年前から、手紙を書くときに安い筆ペンを使っているんですが、ずっと間違えて使ってきたことをやっと今日分かりました。お稽古はとても楽しかったし、筆の使い方について大変勉強になりました。これからは沢山練習しないといけませんね。染丸師匠、本当にどうもありがとうございました。

この後、師匠と繁昌亭に向かいました。今日の噺は「寝床」でした。昼席の後、師匠は噺家もお囃子さんも全員誘って、近くのレストランで打ち上げをしました。夜7時ごろに帰って、一日の仕上げはティー&ケーキでした。

Comments コメント

