Caricature Debut 戯画デビュー

Today was a practice day at Somemaru’s, so it was a pretty laid-back day. I got quite a bit of reading done between chores and other business.

Somemaru got something interesting in the mail today from a student who participated in a recent for-college-credit rakugo workshop. It was a caricature drawing of Somemaru and his assistants–Someza, Aisome, Ms. Nagamine (shamisen), and, none other than myself! I am the one in the drawing who seems to be hiding behind Somemaru. Come to think of it, I was “behind the scenes” for most of the several-day workshop, so this is most appropriate. In the drawing I am saying, “Totte ko~~ ka~~,” a pun on “should I go and grab it?” (the forgotten hoe in the story) and “Cock-a-doodle-doo!” (this is a chicken speaking, after all). This pun is the punchline–and title–of one of the kobanashi (comical anecdotes) that Somemaru let me perform during the workshop. Thanks to this talented student, I also made my caricature debut today!

今日はお稽古日だったので、楽な一日でした。家事と他の用事の間に読書も沢山できました。

この間、師匠が大学の単位が出る落語ワークショップを担当しましたが、参加した生徒さんから面白い郵便物が今日の午前中に届きました。それはナント染丸師匠とそのアシスタント、染左さん、愛染さん、長峰さん(三味線)、そして僕の戯画です!その中に染丸師匠の後ろに隠れているようにみえるのが僕です。考えてみれば、ワークショップの何日間は僕がほとんど舞台裏でした。絵の中に僕が「トッテコーカー」と言っています。これは小咄の落ちで、「取ってきましょうか」(小咄の中の忘られた鍬)と「コケコッコウ」(勿論、これは鶏の台詞)のだじゃれです。師匠のおかげで、ワークショップでこれを演じることができました。絵描きの才能がたっぷりある生徒のおかげで、今日は戯画デビューまでもできました。どうもありがとうございました。

Comments コメント

