Today’s Shocker: Vintage Umeboshi 今日のビックリ:ヴィンテージ梅干し

Today was a practice day, so Aisome and I took care of business as usual. I decided to clean Somemaru’s refrigerator. As I was throwing out items whose expiration dates had passed I came across a large container of umeboshi (pickled plums), on which the date Heisei 16 (2004), June 20 was written!! I showed this to Aisome, saying we better throw these out. “No,” he said, “umeboshi will keep for 3000 years.” Yeah right, I thought… Since I’ve never backed down from a food challenge in Japan I decided to give one of these babies a try. Let me just say that I’ve never tasted anything so sour in my life! Aisome tried one and made the same wrinkled face that I did, only he said that he liked it and that this is the way good umeboshi are supposed to taste. Wow, I guess there’s nothing like fine vintage umeboshi. I’ll have to come back to Somemaru’s house in seven years to taste how they’ve aged!

今日はお稽古日だったので、普段の用事をしました。冷蔵庫も掃除することにしました。賞味期限が切れていたものを捨てている途中で、梅干の入った大きいいれものが目に入りました。日にちはマジックで書いてあったけど、それはナント平成16年6月20日でした!愛染さんに見せて、僕は「これは捨てた方がいいな」と言ったけど、「いや、梅干は3000年でも保存できるもん」との返事。。。なわけないやろと思いながら、この梅干一個を食べてみることに決めました。だって、日本では食べ物は、なんでも挑戦するというルールがあって、この梅干の味見をしなかったら、僕の負けになるわけです。まぁ、食べてみて言える感想はこれしかありません:こんな酸っぱいもんは今まで食したことはナイてす!愛染さんも食べてみて、僕と同じ様なしわしわした顔をしたんだけど、ただ、彼は美味しいと言っていました。彼によると、いい梅干はこんな味をしていないといけないとのこと。まあ、ヴィンテージの梅干しほど美味いもんはないのでしょう。また七年後に染丸師匠の家に戻って、今日の梅干はどんな味になっているのか楽しみにしときます。

Comments コメント

