First Performance 初舞台

I made the 6 a.m. shinkansen and was in Tokyo just after 8:30. I had some time before I had to be at the University of Tokyo (Tôdai), so I grabbed coffee at Starbucks and reviewed my material for the talk and performance.

I had to be at Tôdai at 10:30a.m. On my way I took this picture (sorry, not a great one) of Akamon (Red Gate), a well-known Tôdai landmark.

Before my appearance I was invited to listen to the last several speeches in Japanese by international students in the Engineering Department. I was thoroughly impressed with their (remarkable) abilities in Japanese. Speeches were both educational and entertaining. Really, it was tough to follow such talented presenters.

I have spoken on rakugo in academic settings before, but this was my first time to perform rakugo in front of a group expecting to be made to laugh… Fortunately everybody in the audience–both students and teachers–were wonderfully supportive, laughing at all the points I was hoping they would. I learned much from this performance… for example, how it feels to be a hanashika. It is not easy, but, if you put in the work to give a successful performance, the rewards are plentiful: people say how much they enjoyed the show, they want to take commemorative photos, and, if they’re new to rakugo, they want more information about it.

Of course, when the show was over I only wanted to get back on stage to do the story again. While many things went well, I was also immediately aware of a number of areas I needed to improve on. I hope a have a chance to improve on stage in the near future.

The faculty and staff at Tôdai were most gracious hosts. They prepared a perfect stage and space for the show, and, though they were busy with the day’s activities (End-of-course Ceremony and Banquet), they went to much trouble to make sure I was comfortable. I would like to give special thanks to Furuichi-sensei and Song-sensei, for inviting me and organizing the talk/ performance.

I would also like to give special thanks to Somemaru shishô, for teaching me Sake no kasu, and Aisome, for lending me his kimono.

There were a number of people who took pictures during the show. I will post some of them here. This was a wonderful first experience, which I will always remember.

午前6時の新幹線に間に合って、東京駅に8:30すぎに到着しました。東大での待ち合わせの前に少し時間があったので、スターバックスでコーヒーを飲みながらトークと噺の内容を復習しておきました。

待ち合わせは10:30でした。歩く途中でよく知られている陸標である赤門の写真を取りました。(あまり上手く撮れませんでした)

出番の前に工学部の日本語教室の先生たちが留学生のスピーチコンテストに誘ってくださいました。生徒さんの日本語(高い)能力にびっくりしました。スピーチが教育的だったし、とても面白かったです。こんな才能のある学生の後に高座に上がるのはとても難しかったです。

大学の講義や学会で落語についてトークしたことがあるんですが、今日は、笑わせることを期待しているお客さんの前でパフォーマーとして落語を発表するということは初めてでした。大変ありがたいことに、客席に座っていた全員、学生さんも先生たちも、よく支持してくださったし、笑って欲しかったところ全てに笑ってくれたんです。この経験で、本当に大変勉強になりました。例えば、噺家の気分が分かりました。高座に上がることはとても難しいですが、お客さんに受けてもらえるような噺をするためにちゃんとお稽古したら、色々な報酬があります。「とても面白かった」などを言ってくださったり、思い出の写真をお願いしたり、落語の初めての方は芸について興味深く質問を聞いたりします。

今日の高座が終わったら、すぐにでもまた上がって噺をしたくなっちゃいました。今日の噺は一般的に上手くいったと思いますけど、やっぱりそれぞれ磨かないといけないところが沢山ありました。近いうちに高座で勉強して上達する機会があるなと思っています。

東大の教員もスタフもとても親切な方で、大変お世話になりました。完璧な高座も空間も作ってくださったし、留学生の終了式とその後の宴会で忙しかったことに関わらず、僕の面倒を優しく見てくださいました。ご招待してくださった、トーク・パフォーマンスの主催者であった古市先生と成先生に特に感謝しています。

「酒の粕」を教えてくださった染丸師匠にも、着物を貸してくださった愛染さんにも、大変感謝しています。

高座のとき、何人か写真を取りましたが、その写真が手に入ったらここに載せます。今日の経験は本当に素敵でした。一生記憶に残るに違いありません。

Comments コメント

