Another Performance もう一席

Today Somemaru was the guest lecturer for a group of Hyôgo University students. He lectured for a full day on rakugo. It was great review for me, and I also learned many new things.

Somemaru wanted, too, to show students that non-Japanese like myself are both interested in rakugo academically and as an art to perform. Consequently, he asked me to perform Sake no kasu in English, which I was very happy to do. Naturally, I was a bit nervous to perform in front of Somemaru. Fortunately, everything went well. Somemaru even complimented me on my performance after his lecture. It sure was nice of him to give me another chance to polish this story in front of a live crowd.

Aisome kindly allowed me to borrow his kimono again, so, if I didn’t sound professional I at least looked the part. It might be a good idea if I started saving some money to buy my own kimono.

今日、染丸師匠が兵庫大学の授業で客員講師を勤めました。一日中落語についてのレクチャーをしました(本当におつかれさまでございました)。僕にもとても良い復習だったし、新しい情報も山ほど聞かせていただきました。

師匠が僕みたいに日本人でない人も、学問としても実際に演じる芸としても落語に興味を持つことを生徒さんに伝えるように、幸いなことに、僕が英語版の「酒の粕」の出番をいただきました。もちろん、師匠の前で落語をするということは緊張してしまいましたが、噺がなんとか上手くいきました。レクチャーの後に師匠から褒め言葉までもいただけました。お客様の前でこの噺を磨く機会をいただいたことに対して誠にありがたいです。

愛染さんが今日もまた着物を貸してくださいました。おかげさまで、プロ噺家に聴こえなくても、見た目はばっちりだったでしょう。これから少しずつ貯金して自分の着物を買った方がいいかもしれませんね。

Comments コメント

