The Ivory Yose アイボリー寄席

Today we had a free day until evening, so we took it easy at Somemaru’s house. He brought out a box of wigs, which we tried on. One of the wigs gave me an idea of the kind of professor I might look like in 20 years.

In the evening, Somemaru did a favor for a younger hanashika by making a guest appearance at the tenth show at the “Ivory Yose,” which is held at the Ivory Hotel in Toyonaka.

Tonight Somemaru did one of his specialty numbers, Kaketori (The Debt Collector), but he seemed to have even more energy than usual, all of which he put into making the audience laugh and laugh. I also laughed a lot from backstage. Though I’ve probably heard Somemaru do this particular story about ten times, I enjoy it more and more with each telling, and I always seem to learn something new. This is one of the attractions of rakugo, especially that by a master such as Somemaru.

Someza, a pupil of Somemaru’s, was at the show to play flutes. I have a lot of respect for Someza–he takes his art very seriously, and as a result, he strikes me as a person who may become one of the future masters of the art. Someza sat backstage and quietly mouthed the lines as Somemaru narrated Kaketori to the audience. I’ve heard rumors about Someza’s incredible ability to memorize stories in a short period of time. For example, I heard recently that he memorized the story Nedoko, a rather complex story, in about a day or two. Maybe this shouldn’t be too surprising considering the fact he is an Osaka University graduate. Another interesting fact about Someza is that he is a big NFL (American football) fan. Here is a picture of Someza in action backstage:

今日は晩まで暇だったので、染丸師匠のお宅でゆっくりしました。その間、鬘が沢山入った箱を出して、一緒にそれぞれを冠ってみました。一つは僕の20年後教授の姿が分かったかもしれません?

ある若い噺家のお願いに答えて、スペシャルゲストとして第10回の「アイボリー寄席」(豊中のアイボリーホテル)で高座に上がりました。

今晩の演目は十八番である「掛け取り」でした。今晩、なぜか、いつもより少しテンションが高く、お客さんを枕から最後まで爆笑させました。僕も舞台裏でよく笑いました。師匠の「掛け取り」は10回くらい聴いているですが、毎回毎回もっと愉しくなるし、いつも何か新しいこと勉強になります。これは落語、特に染丸師匠のような名人の落語、の魅力点の一つです。

師匠の弟子である染左(そめざ)さんは今晩の会で笛を弾きました。染左さんのこと、とても尊敬しています。まじめに落語を研究するし、きっと将来に上方落語の名人になるでしょう。今晩、師匠が「掛け取り」を語っているときに舞台裏で染左さんが同時に台詞を唇の動きでまねていました。染左さんの記憶力が素晴らしいという噂を聞きました。例えば、かなり難しい「寝床」でも1日が2日くらいで覚えたということまで聞きました。さすが大阪大学の卒業生ですね。染左さんについてもう一つの興味深いことは、彼がNFL(アメリカンフットボール)の大ファンであることす。最後の写真(上)は染左さんの舞台裏で頑張っている姿です。

Comments コメント

