Unwelcome Matt 招待なし真人(マット)

Today was shamisen/ohayashi lesson day at Somemaru’s. I emailed him–and Cc’d Aisome–yesterday asking if it would be all right if spent the day at his place. I heard back right away from Aisome: “Shishô has vanished by himself into Umeda, so I can’t answer for him. We do have enough fish for four people, so we’d be okay for breakfast. I’m sure Shishô will be happy to see you, so come on out!”

With that I planned on arriving at Somemaru’s at 10am. I didn’t hear back from Somemaru, but just assumed he was too busy to reply.

I arrived at 10am. I announced my arrival with a carrying “ohayô gozaimasu” (good morning) as I took off my shoes in the foyer. I ascended the stairs to the second floor and found Somemaru cooking breakfast in the kitchen. Down to the floor I went with a head-to-floor bow, “Shishôohayô gozaimasu!”

“Why didn’t anybody tell me Matt was coming?!” Somemaru questioned.

Oh no.

Silence.

“Shishô, did you not see the email I sent?” I asked timidly.

“No,” he said. “I didn’t get a mail.”

All I could do was apologize in embarrassment. Somemaru is a kind-hearted man, though, so he said nothing more of this “unwelcome Matt.” We got right back to convivially cooking breakfast. After eating, we started the regular morning routine–cleaning, etc.–before Somemaru’s students began arriving.

I stayed until dinner, too. At several points during the day I was able to talk to Somemaru about some research I am working on. Some of the things I had previously spent hours on–and still couldn’t fully figure out–Somemaru solved with little more than a word. I feel so lucky to know him.

Tomorrow Somemaru has plans to go cherry blossom viewing in Kyoto. He was very kind to invite me along, too. Of course I said yes!

Shishô, thank you for a nice day–and your generous guidance! (and sorry for this morning’s “surprise.”)

今日、師匠の家で三味線とお囃子のお稽古日でした。昨日、師匠(Cc:愛染さん)に「明日、朝から伺っても宜しいでしょうか」というメール送りました。その後直ぐ、愛染さんからのお返事が来ました:「今師匠はひとりで梅田の街に消えて行かれたのでなんとも言えませんが、ちょうど魚は4人分ありますんで朝食は問題なしです。師匠もきっと喜ぶと思うので朝から来ちゃいなよ」。

ということで、師匠からのお返事は来なかったのですが、きっとお忙しいのだろうと思い、師匠の家に10時に伺っても大丈夫だろうと思っていました。

予定通り、10時に着きました。玄関で靴を脱ぎながら、「おはようございます!」と大きな声でご挨拶しました。二階に上がったら、師匠がすでにキッチンで朝食を作り始めていました。床にひざまずいて、深くお辞儀して、「師匠、おはようございます!」と言いました。

「なんで今日マットが来るって誰も言ってくれへんの?」と師匠は聞きました。

えっ?やっばい。

沈黙...

僕がおどおどして尋ねてみました。「師匠、もしかしたら、メール見ませんでしたか。」

「ううん、届いてないよ、メール」と。

そこで、恥ずかしいまま、謝るしかなかったんです。でも、師匠はとても優しい方。その後は「招待なし真人」について何も言いませんでした。寧ろ、仲良く朝ご飯を作りました。食べた後、師匠の生徒が着く前の日課(家事等)をしました。

晩ご飯までも御馳走になりました。今日は時折、何回か最近僕が進めている研究について師匠とお話することができました。ある課題で僕が何時間かけても解らなかったところを、師匠に聞いたら(当たり前ですが)一言で答えてくださいました。トッテモ助かりました。師匠のそばにいれるなんて、僕は本当にラッキーですね。

明日、師匠が京都まで花見に行く予定で、「真人も来るかい」と言ってくださいました。もちろん行きたいと思ってま〜す!(お願い致します。)

師匠、素敵な一日、どうもありがとうございました。(今朝の「サプライ図」、本当にすみませんでした。)

Comments コメント

