A Fun Day with Shishô 師匠と楽しい一日

Almost every day this past month I have been sitting at my desk, surrounded by books, and glued to my computer. I accomplished quite a bit and am finally done with a project I was working on, but I am utterly exhausted. A day like today was exactly what I needed.

Somemaru had a tentative plan to visit Nara to see the last cherry blossoms of the season at the celebrated Mt. Yoshino. He was kind to invite me too, so I looked forward to this excursion all month. We had heavy rain over the last couple days so I feared the cherry blossoms would all be washed away.

Sure enough, last night I got an email from Somemaru. “It looks like the cherry blossoms at Yoshino have all scattered. It looks like the weather will take a turn for the better, but I’m wondering what we should do.” I replied right away, saying that I would have a good time in any case, and that I would still like to get together. With that he said he would contact me the following morning.

I got the call this morning. We were to meet at Umeda at 10 a.m.

What a day we had today! We started with breakfast and then went window shopping for a couple hours, all while having pleasant conversations. We talked about Japanese culture and American culture, Somemaru’s rakugo and my studies, not to mention much more.

At 1 p.m. we made our way to the movie theater to watch Hankyu densha (The Hankyû Train), a touching movie about a day’s happenings and the connections made therein on this historic train line in Hyôgo prefecture. The movie was wonderful, complete with important social messages: be sensitive to the needs of others, be quick to offer them assistance, and respect community space. Somemaru made a great comment about the movie in his 4/26 blog.

“I saw the movie Hankyû densha for the second time. It was wonderful. One of the stars, Miyamoto Nobuko, whom I’ve had the opportunity to interview in the past, is one of my favorite actresses. She did a fabulous job playing a woman who any of us could imagine living on the Hankyû line. This is a fun story cleverly inlaid with drama in various people’s lives, as their paths cross in fifteen-minute spaces on a round-trip on the Hankyû Imazu line. This is a heartwarming movie that would make anybody want to live along the Hankyû line. To tell the truth, I now feel quite proud to live on the line myself.”

After the movie in Umeda, Somemaru and I went to Shinsaibashi to visit his friend who is putting on an art show. It was a nice exhibition. We also had coffee there before our next stop, a Korean restaurant for dinner, which was fabulous! In addition to dinner Somemaru bought me a big tub of kimchee to take home.

Recently Somemaru has been exercising, walking long-distance. I joined him for the 30-minute walk back to his house. The weather was perfect as the sun went down. There were all kinds of people out walking and jogging, and birds were calling out to each other as they flew back to their nests for the evening. The walk after dinner felt wonderful, and our conversations only made it that much more enjoyable.

Once at Somemaru’s house I said thank you and good night, and was on my way home. Today was a wonderfully fun day with Shishô, just what I needed to get my mind off of research and writing for a day, just what I needed to recharge.

Thank you so much, Shishô!

この1ヶ月間、ほとんど毎日、本に囲まれた机の前に座り、コンピュータにはりついていました。ようやく長くとりかかっていたプロジェクトが終わり、達成感を感じつつも、少し疲れています。なので、今日のような一日は、まさに僕が必要としていた一日でした。

染丸師匠と以前、絶景の吉野山の桜を見に行くため、奈良を訪れる約束をしていました。師匠がご親切に僕も招待してくださり、この一ヶ月とても楽しみにしていました。ただ、奈良に行く2、3日前から大雨が続き、もしかしたら桜が散ってしまっているのではないかと心配していました。

思った通り、前日に師匠からメールがありました。「吉野の桜は散ってしまっているかもしれません。天気は回復しそうですがどうしょうかな」と。僕はすぐお返事をし、どちらにしてもぜひお会いしたいですと言いました。師匠は、それでは明朝また連絡しますとおっしゃいました。

今朝、電話をいただき、10時に梅田でお会いすることになりました。

本当に楽しい一日でした!朝食から始まり、数時間ウィンドーショッピングをし、その間ずっと師匠との会話を楽しみました。私たちは日米の文化について、また師匠の落語や僕の研究、その他たくさんのことを話しました。

1時に「阪急電車」という映画を見に、映画館へ向かいました。この映画は、兵庫県を走る歴史的な路線を舞台に、一日のできごとと人々のつながりを描いた感動的な映画でした。社会的なメッセージが込められた、素晴らしい映画でした。他の人が困っていたら見てみぬ振りをせず、彼らを助け、公共の場でのマナーを尊重しょうというメッセージでした。師匠が4月26日のブログで、この映画についての素晴らしいコメントを書いていらっしゃいました。

「映画「阪急電車」を続けて2回観てしまいました。すてきな映画でした。主演の宮本信子さんは、インタビューしたこともある私の大好きな女優さんなんですが、いかにも阪急沿線に住んでいる女性という感じを実にうまく表現しておられました。電車に乗り合わせたいろんな人たちのドラマを阪急今津線の15分ずつの往復にうまくちりばめた楽しいストーリーです。心温かくなって、一度阪急沿線に住んでみたいなと思わせる佳品の映画ですね。思わず、私はその沿線の住人だよと自慢したくなってしまいました(笑)。」

映画の後、僕と師匠は師匠のご友人がなさっている絵画の展覧会を見に、心斎橋へ行きました。とても素敵な展覧会でした。私たちは次の場所へ向かう前に、そこでコーヒーをいただきました。その後、ディナーに韓国料理のレストランに行きましたが、そこは本当に美味しくて大好きです!それだけでなく、帰りに師匠が持ち帰り用のキムチまで僕に買ってくださいました。

最近師匠は運動として、長距離のウォーキングをなさっています。僕も今日は参加し、師匠のお宅までの30分の道のりを一緒に歩きました。日が沈むに連れてちょうどいい気温になりました。外には、ウォーキングをしている人、ジョギングをしている人など、様々な人たちが夕暮れを楽しんでいました。そして、鳥たちもさえずりあい、自分たちの巣へ帰っていきました。ディナーの後のウォーキングは、とても気持ちが良かったし、師匠との会話がさらに楽しいものとしました。

師匠のお宅に着いてから、僕は感謝の言葉とご挨拶をし、家に帰りました。今日は研究や論文から気分転換ができ、さらに頑張る気力をいただき、師匠と過ごした楽しい一日でした。

師匠、本当に有り難うございました。

Comments コメント

