Omelets, Shamisen, Maps, and Deer オムレツ、三味線、地図と鹿

Today I had a very nice day at Somemaru’s house.

He requested omelets for breakfast, so I stopped on my way to do some grocery shopping. Fortunately the omelets turned out okay. Okay, I will be completely honest: the first one was a flop — it looked more like a scrambled omelet — but that one went to me, of course.

After breakfast, Aisome and I cleaned the house and set out shamisen, etc., for a day of lessons. Now that I am spending most of my time on my research, I really miss being able to hear Somemaru’s shamisen and singing. Today was, therefore, a real privilege.

Somejaku (#5 deshi) stopped by Somemaru’s house today. It had been a while since I had last seen him, so it was nice to see and talk to him, too.

After shamisen lessons, we went grocery shopping, and then had fun preparing a wonderful dinner. After dinner, Somemaru shared with Aisome and I a great collection of Osaka maps. Maps in the set include pre-Edo-, Edo-, and Meiji-period reprints. On map after map he explained where scenes in rakugo stories occur. It was a treat to view the maps with Somemaru, and I am looking forward to taking my time to study them in the future.

Today Somemaru had a new hanging scroll up. This one is quite possibly my favorite yet. I was surprised when I saw Somemaru’s name signed on it, along with his personal seal. The deer in the scroll is great because he allows the viewer freedom to wonder why he is gazing upward. Is he looking at a crow in the tree above? Is he cooling his neck in an unexpected summer breeze? Is he trying to hear something deep in the woods behind him? This is a great scroll because it allows our minds to wonder, our hearts to play.

Thank you for another nice day, Shishô.

今日、染丸師匠のお宅でとても良い一日を過ごしました。

師匠がオムレツをリクエストなさったので、買い物して参りました。良かったことに、オムレツは何とか上手くいけました。まあ、正直に言いましょう:最初のオムレツが失敗でした。スクランブル・オムレツのような感じでしたわ。もちろん、僕がそれをいただきました。笑

朝食後、愛染さんと家事をし、お稽古のために三味線などを用意しました。最近、自分の研究をやっているので、前みたいにいつも師匠の三味線/唄を聴けなくて本当に残念です。だから、今日は真に贅沢でした。

今日、染雀さん(5番弟子)も師匠のお宅に寄りました。会うのは久しぶりだったので、会えて、話せたこともとても良かったです。

三味線のお稽古が終わったら、買い物に行って、それから師匠と楽しく料理をさせていただきました(今日も最高に美味しかったです)。その後、師匠が僕と愛染さんに珍しい地図のコレクションを見せてくださいました。その地図がリプリントですが、江戸前、江戸、そして明治時代の地図が沢山あり、それを見ながら、師匠が噺の場面がどこで行われるかということを教えてくださいました。本当に興味深い説明で、また近いうちにその地図をゆっくり拝見させていただきたいと思いました。

今日、気づいたら、師匠がまた新しい掛軸をかけていらっしゃいました。実は、いままで拝見させていただいた掛軸の中で一番好きかもしれません。見たら(驚)印鑑とともに師匠の名前が書いてありました!僕にとって、掛軸の中の鹿の素敵なところは、なぜか、自由に想像させてくれるところです。鹿がどこを眺めているのか思いめぐらせてくれるのです。上の木の中にある烏を見ているのですか。予期しなかった風に首を涼しくさせているのですか。後ろにある森の中に何か聞こえようとしているのですか。あれこれ思いめぐらせてくれる、そして心を遊ばせてくれるので、本当に素敵な掛軸です。

師匠、今日も素敵な一日、本当にどうもありがとうございました。

Comments コメント

