Somemaru’s Sense of Humor 染丸師匠のユーモアのセンス

Last week I performed the role Tarôkaja in the kyogen play “Shibiri.” Since I had been out of touch with Somemaru for the better part of three weeks, I sent him a picture of me on show night, just prior to going on. He responded with a text message, telling me I looked good in costume.

This week Somemaru performed all week at the Hanjôtei afternoon show. I went with a friend to see his show on Tuesday. After the show I visited him in his dressing room. He surprised me with a present in an envelope. I had no idea what it was. He told me to open it there. What I pulled out of the envelope made me laugh at the top of my lungs. It was the picture of me in costume as Tarôkaja, superimposed onto an image of the majestic Mt. Fuji!

I think the only way I could become more Japanese would be to naturalize as a Japanese citizen! This picture makes it clear that Somemaru has a great sense of humor on and off the stage.

Thank you for the gift Shishô, and for the good laugh.

先週、狂言の芝居「しびり」の太郎冠者の役を演じました。その三週間の間、師匠にほとんどお目にかかれなかったので、本番直前の写真を師匠にお送りしたところ、衣装もいい感じで、いい男だと言ってくださいました。

今週は、師匠が繁昌亭の昼席のトリを務めていらっしゃいましたので、僕も火曜日に知人を連れて聴きに行きました。最後に、師匠の楽屋に伺い、ナント僕に封筒に入ったギフトを渡してくださいました。何だろうと思い、その場で開けるように言われました。中身を出したらバクショウしました。僕の太郎冠者ショットが富士山の画像と合成されていました!

日本を象徴する富士山とのコラボ写真は、日本の国籍を取らない限り、これ以上日本人になれるものはないでしょう。この写真を見ると師匠が高座の時も舞台裏の時も、常にユーモアのセンスが素晴らしいということがわかります。

師匠、ギフトも素敵な笑いもどうもありがとうございました。

Comments コメント

