Hanjôtei’s 5th Anniversary 繁昌亭5周年

Today marks five years since the Hanjôtei opened to the public on September 15, 2006. The day began with a formal ceremony, followed by a press release. There was plenty of rakugo on the bill as usual, but the day’s main attraction was “Bakushô (lit. explosive laughter) Kabuki,” a hanashika rendition of the famous play Kanjinchô (The Subscription List). The three stars of the show were Tsukitei Happô (Togachi Saemon), Hayashiya Somemaru (Minamoto no Yoshitsune), and Katsura Sanshi (Musashibô Benkei).

I attended the day’s opening show. The costumes and makeup were outstanding, all applied by theatre professionals. The actors were even better, getting laugh after continuous laugh from the audience. Throughout the show kakegoe (emotional cheers of support, often heard in kabuki theaters), came from all directions.

Bakushô Kabuki” was staged just prior to intermission, so I imagine Somemaru had no break as he rushed to get out of costume, remove his thick makeup (quite difficult, messy, and time-consuming), get into his own kimono, and get ready to go on as the morning show’s headliner.

Bakushô Kabuki was staged three times today, so all people involved, especially the stars, must have been quite exhausted come the end of the day. They did this for an important cause though; to celebrate the Hanjôtei’s fifth anniversary, which wouldn’t have been possible without a supportive and enthusiastic public.

Congratulations on five years Hanjôtei! Thank you for a wonderful show everybody. Otsukaresama de gozaimashita.

I couldn’t take pictures during the show, but I should be able to get some taken by public media in the coming days. In the meantime, here are some shots from the pre-morning show festivities (left, and below).

天満天神繁昌亭が2006年9月15日に開場し、今日で5周年を迎えました。朝席の前に式があって、プレスリリースもありました。今日、普段通り落語も何席かありましたが、メインイベントは噺家さんたちによる「爆笑歌舞伎」でした。演目は歌舞伎十八番である「勧進帳」でした。立役の三人は月亭八方師匠(富樫左衛門)、林家染丸師匠(源義経)、桂三枝師匠(武蔵坊弁慶)でした。

僕は朝席の公演を見させていただきました。劇場のプロによる衣装や化粧、まことに素敵でした。それ以上に良かったのは、スターたちの演技でした。最初から最後まで、ずっと客席が爆笑状態で、あっちこっちからかけ声が聞こえてきました。

「爆笑歌舞伎」がちょうど中入りの前に行われまして、朝席のトリを勤める染丸師匠には休憩は全くなかったのではと思います。「勧進帳」の後すぐ、衣装を脱いで、化粧を取らないといけない(これはとても時間がかかります)ので、自分の着物を着る間もほとんどなかったと思います。舞台裏での本格的な「早変り」だったでしょうね。

これだけでなく、この後も「爆笑歌舞伎」をもう2回演ずることになっていて、一日中繁昌亭の楽屋はバタバタ状態だったに違いありません。皆様(特に師匠たち)本当に大変だったでしょう。しかし、今日の全ては繁昌亭の5周年の記念のためでした。5年間ずっとサポートしてきてくださったお客様のためでもありました。

天満天神繁昌亭、5周年、本当におめでとうございます。皆様、素敵な公演もどうもありがとうございました。本当におつかれさまでございました。

公演中に写真を撮れませんでしたが、後日マスコミのものが出てくると思います。後にそれをアップさせていただきたいと思います。それまで朝席の前の写真をご覧くださいませ。

 

 

 

 

Comments コメント

