Happy Birthday Somemaru! 師匠、お誕生日おめでとうございます!

日本語の翻訳、大変お待たせ致しました(下)。

Tonight Somemaru’s ichimon, a number of ohayashi players, and some friends gathered to celebrate Somemaru’s 62nd birthday. His birthday was actually yesterday (October 10), but, since he had a show in Nagoya last night, the party was postponed until this evening.

The mood was festive and the food wonderful. Of course, there was also birthday cake and presents. Somemaru’s pupils presented him with a beautiful, high-end wristwatch.

Somemaru’s birthday this year also marks exactly one year that I have been with him. In anticipation for this day, to celebrate his birthday and to say thank you for a wonderful year, I began preparing several months ago.

As Somemaru seems to have everything, and because I am still a poor student, I decided the best way to give him something “original” was to make it myself. I designed and have been carving something for him out of magnolia wood. This is my first try at woodcarving. Unfortunately, it is not quite finished. I presented it to him this evening to show him what I have been working on, letting him it was meant for his birthday.

He seemed happy about it, and made the group laugh when he joked, “What do you mean I can’t take my own present home yet?!”

Shishô, I have just a little more carving and polishing to do, then it will be yours to keep. I apologize for the delay.

Once I present the carving to Somemaru for good, I will share more detailed pictures of it in a future blog post.

今晩は染丸師匠の一門、そしてお囃子さんとお友達の皆さんが集まって、師匠の62歳のお誕生日をお祝いしました。師匠の誕生日が昨日(10月10日)でしたが、名古屋で落語会がありましたので、今晩まで延期することになりました。

楽しい雰囲気の中、おしゃれで美味しい料理をいただきました。もちろん、ケーキもプレゼントもありました。師匠は一門から素敵なプレゼントをもらいました。それは高級な腕時計でした。

実は今年の師匠のお誕生日は、僕にとってもう一つの記念日でもありました。師匠とお目にかかって、ちょうどこの日で一年だったのです!今日は、師匠のお誕生日でもあるし、一年間大変お世話になってきました(ご迷惑をかけていました?)ので、実は、数ヶ月前よりプレゼントの準備をしてきました。

染丸師匠は貴重で高価なものをすでに持っていらっしゃいますし、僕はまだ貧乏な学生なので、オリジナルギフトを自分で作ることにしました。木の彫り物をお渡ししようと思い、まずデザインをして、毎日少しずつモクレンの木を彫っていきました。木彫挑戦は初めてで、あいにく、誕生日に間に合いませんでした。しかし、今晩のパーティーへ持っていって、一回師匠にお渡しして、作っているものをお見せしてみました。

嬉しいことに、師匠が喜んでくださっているようでした。その後、面白いジョークを言って、全員を笑わせました。「なんや、自分の誕生日プレゼントなのに、まだ持って帰ったらアカンのか。」笑(土下座)

師匠、もう少し彫ったり磨いたりして、ちゃんと完成したものをお渡しいたします。遅くなって、本当にすみません。完成して、師匠にお渡しできたら、このブログでも作品を発表したいと思います。暫くお待ちくださいね。

Comments コメント

