a-Oh NO〜ri あオーノーり

Today was a regular lesson day at Somemaru’s. In the a.m., we made a nice breakfast, Aisome and I cleaned house, got the shamisen and drums ready for lessons, and took care of students as they came in.

On a break I spoke to Somemaru about the so-called “old-men’s gags” (ossan gyagu). Most people in Japan (especially younger people) groan when they hear these pun-based jokes, but  the truth is – I feel – everybody in this country has a place in their hearts’ for them.

I bet if I had 100 yen for every time I heard someone pull an ossan gyagu on me with my own name (e.g. chotto Matto, or “wait a Mattit”), I would be a rich man today. Okay, I’m lying. But I would probably have close to 10,000 yen. And when I hear it, I groan and say, “oh not again,” but the truth is (confession time), I love it too. Every time.

Tonight for dinner we had Somemaru’s famous okonomiyaki (a savory pancake-style food, made with batter, diced cabbage, seafood, pork, and whatever else you want to put into it; a favorite in Osaka). Somemaru was nice to help me flip mine, and even helped me choose the toppings (sauces, seasonings) that would taste best.

Then, all the sudden, dinner was brought to a momentary halt.

Somemaru went to pass the ao nori (seaweed powder) to me, but, as the top of the package wasn’t sealed properly, half of the contents poured out onto Somemaru’s lap and food… I felt so bad, especially since he was being so kind to make my dinner an enjoyable one. Aisome and I jumped up and started cleaning. Fortunately, not all of Somemaru’s okonomiyaki was ruined, and we were soon back to a wonderful dinner.

Following dinner, after the dishes were done and Aisome and I were getting ready to leave for the evening, I couldn’t help recalling the ao nori episode at dinner, and the ossan gyagu conversation I had earlier in the day with Somemaru. Then it came to me…

“a-Oh NO〜ri!”  (ao nori + oh no!)

Hey, is that a groan I just heard?

I made my leave without sharing my new ossan gyagu with Somemaru.

Today was another very enjoyable day.

今日は、師匠のお宅で普段通りのお稽古日でした。朝は、一緒に美味しい朝食を作り、その後は愛染さんと家事をし、三味線や太鼓などを用意しておきました。生徒さんが着たら、皆さんのお世話させていただきました。

師匠の休憩のときに、いわゆる「あっさんギャグ」についてお話をしました。だいたいの日本人(特に若い人)、このだじゃれが中心となっているジョークを聞くと、うめき声のようなリアクションするのが多いですね。しかし、僕の意見ですが、日本人のミナさん、心の中で特別な位置を占めています。

ほんと、僕の名前を使ったおっさんキャグ(例:ちょっとマット)を言われたこと、ホンマにタクサンあります。言われたら100円もらえることにしたら、僕は今頃大金持ちになっているはずです。嘘ですね。でも、一万円ぐらいあると思いますよ。それを聞くと、僕もうめき声をあげて、「またか」と言いますが、実は(白状)、毎回、僕も好きなんです。

今日の夕飯は師匠の看板メニュー、お好み焼きでした。とても優しいことに、師匠が僕のお好み焼きをひっくり返してくださったり、上に乗せる一番美味しいもの(ソース、調味料)も一緒に選んでくださいました。

すると、突然夕飯が一時的に停止されました。

師匠が青のりを僕の方へ渡そうとなさりましたら、パッケージがちゃんと閉まっていなかったため、中身のほぼ半分が師匠の膝、お好み焼きの上に...こぼれてしまいました。せっかく僕がお好み焼きを美味しくいただけるようにしてくださっていたのに...師匠、本当にかわいそうでした。僕、愛染さんと飛び上がって、掃除をし始めました。幸い、師匠のお好み焼きの全て台無しにされなかったので、その後も素敵なディナーを続けられました。

食べ終わると、お皿を洗い、愛染さんと帰る準備をしていたら、夕飯中の青のり出来事を思い出さないではいられませんでした。師匠とさせていただいたおっさんギャグのお話も思い出しました。そして、考えつきました...

「あオーノーり!」(青のり+オーノー。=しまった!)

あら、もしかしたら、今聞こえたのは、うめき声

創作おっさんギャグを口にせず、そのまま帰らせていただきました。今日も師匠ととても楽しい一日でした。

Comments コメント

