Let’s-go Shôji レッツゴー正児 師匠

Today I attended the “Open Lecture,” hosted by the Japanese Society for Humor and Laughter Studies (Nihon warai gakkai). The speaker was “Let’s Go Shôji” of the manzai trio “Let’s Go Sanbiki.”

“Let’s Go Shôji” treated the crowd to a wonderful 90-minute talk, entitled “My Life as an Entertainer” (Waga geinin jinsei). He made us laugh and cry numerous times. Truly, he is a talented speaker, probably a good thing for one whose profession is manzai.

He has had an amazing life filled with many ups and downs. But his story is truly one of success. He is a positive thinker, a hard worker, and incredibly resilient.

One case in point was when he tripped and fell hard on his way up to the stage after being introduced. Some thought it was a joke and laughed. He immediately made it into a joke himself, saying, “Now I couldn’t let the emcee be funnier than me, right? …” Still, upon learning he has bad knees after a major surgery, one has to wonder. A regular man in his 70s probably would have had to be taken to a hospital after a fall like that… In any case, this served as a metaphor for his life; he’s not the kind of person to let a fall keep him down.

In his talk he mentioned meeting Katsura Bunshi V on several occasions in yose dressing rooms. On my way out, I approached “Let’s Go Shôji,” thanked him for a wonderful talk, and told him I studied  for some time with Bunshi. It’s a small world, we both agreed. We talked for a few more minutes and I was on my way.

A very interesting man to say the least. I hope to hear him speak again in the near future.

If you are interested in hearing some great “Let’s Go Sanbiki” material, I recommend the following: “Let’s Go Sanbiki” on YouTube. (in Japanese)

今日、日本笑い学会の「オープン講座」を聞きに行きまして、スピーカーが漫才トリオの「レッツゴー三匹」のレッツゴー正児師匠でした。

90分間、レッツゴー正児師匠が素敵なお話「わが芸人人生」を聞かせてくださいました。何度も笑わせたり泣かせたりしてくださいました。本当に才能のある講演者で、さすが漫才師やなと思いました。

山あり谷ありの人生の中、彼のライフストリーは成功実話に感じました。とてもポジティブで一生懸命、そして困難にも負けない強い方だと思いました。

実は今日、師匠が舞台に上がるときに、段が高かったため、つまずいて強く転んでしまいました。ジョークじゃないかと思い、何人か笑ってしまいました。そのままレッツゴー正児師匠がそれをネタにし、「いや、司会が僕より面白かったらアカンと思って...」と言いました。すべてを笑いに変え、さすがだなと思いました。本当にギャグだったらいいんですが、膝に大手術もされていらっしゃるし、足はちょっと弱っていらっしゃるように見えましたので、もしかしたら冗談じゃなかったかもれません。普通の70代の男性でしたら、病院に運ばれていたでしょう...しかし、どちらにしても、今日の舞台への上がり方は師匠の人生の象徴ともなりました。レッツゴー正児師匠は、転んでも諦めるタイプじゃありません。

講座の時に、ある寄席の楽屋で何回か五代目桂文枝師匠にも会ったとおっしゃいましたので、帰りにレッツゴー正児師匠の方へ行ってご挨拶し、大変勉強になった今日の講座への感謝の言葉を申し上げました。文枝師匠にちょっとついたことがありましたと言い、二人で世の中は狭いなぁと。そこでもう少しレッツゴー正児師匠の話を聞かせていただいてから家に帰りました。

本当に面白い方でした。近いうちにレッツゴー正児師匠の話をまた聞かせていただきたいと思っています。

ところで、「レッツゴー三匹」の漫才を聴きたい方に、こちらの外部リンク(YouTube)は僕のおすすめです:レッツゴー三匹

Comments コメント

