Christmas Carving クリスマス木彫り

This year I enjoyed another Christmas Eve at Somemaru’s house.

During the day I helped with some cleaning and decorated Somemaru’s balcony with Christmas lights.

As evening approached, we turned on the Christmas lights, and prepared dinner, which included an appetizer of fried chicken, a longtime Christmas favorite in Japan thanks to the marketing department at Kentucky Fried Chicken.

The main dish was Hayashi-ya Rice, or hashed beef over rice, Somemaru-style. We began properly too; with sparkling wine and a toast.

And of course, after dinner came Christmas cake and tea.

As it is finally complete after several months of work, I chose this day to give Somemaru his wood carving. He seemed to like it, and that made me truly happy. (See below for captioned  photos of the carving.)

Somemaru also gave me a thoughtful gift this evening: a signed paperboard (shikishi) with a personalized greeting that reads, Matô ni ikiru shiawase (Happiness is living the way you see fit). [This is also a play on my name: Happiness is living like Matt.] 

Somemaru shishô, thank you for making Christmas special this year too.

今年も師匠のお宅で素敵なクリスマス・イーブを過ごさせていただきました。

昼間はちょっとした掃除をし、師匠のバルコニーにクリスマスのイルミネーションを飾り付けました。

夕方になってくると、イルミネーションをつけて、夕飯の準備に入りました。前菜がフライドチキンでした。

ケンタッキーフライドチキンのマーケティング部のおかげか、何十年前から日本のクリスマスと言えばチキンだというように、懐かしく感じられ、本当に愛されています。

今晩のメインは師匠の看板メニューであるハヤシヤ(林家)ライスでした。師匠がとてもおしゃれな方で、食べる前にスパーケリングワインで乾杯させていただきました。

その後、もちろん、クリスマスケーキと紅茶を。

数ヶ月前より削ってまいりました木彫りの作品がや

っと出来上がりましたので、今晩師匠にお渡しする事にしました。師匠が気に入ってくださった様で、僕はとても嬉しかったです。(作品の写真と説明を下にご覧ください。)

木彫りをお渡しした後、師匠がとても心のこめたプレゼントをくださいました。サインと千社札付きの色紙ですが、素敵なメッセージも書いてくださいました:「まとうに生きる幸せ。」

染丸師匠、今年もクリスマスをスペシャルにしてくださり、本当にどうもありがとうございました。

    

Comments コメント

