Off to Tokyo これから東京へ

I will be taking a short research trip to Tokyo, beginning today. My list of places to visit includes:

  1. “Old Book Town” in Jinbôchô
  2. Tsubouchi Memorial Theatre Museum, Waseda University
  3. At least a couple yose
If I find anything especially interesting, I will be sure take photos and make mini-posts from my iPhone.
Since I will be away from my desk for several days, here are the “TODAY’S KOTOWAZA” for the period I’ll be gone:
  • January 28: 白羽の矢が立つ (shiraha no ya ga tatsu)。Arrows with white feathers stand out (i.e., special ones will be chosen).
  • January 29: 人の噂も七十五日 (hito no uwasa mo shichi jû go nichi)。Rumors last but 75 days (i.e., don’t lose sleep over them)
  • January 30: 人を謀れば人に謀らる (hito o hakareba hito ni hakararu)。Conspire against others and they will conspire against you.
  • January 31: 捨てる神あれば拾う神あり (suteru kami areba hirô kami ari)。If there is a god to throw you out, there is a god to pick you up (i.e., when one door shuts, another opens).
  • February 1: 念には念を入れよ (nen ni wa nen o ireyo)。Put precaution into your precaution.

Let’s give a big hand to MARK J. in Sydney, Australia for this week’s “SENRYÛ OF THE WEEK”! 

  • The month of flowers / color of red plum blossoms / I come from the bath.  花の月紅梅ごとき湯上がりや (ume no tsuki kôbai gotoki yu agari ya)。¹

Nice work Mark! 

Edo (old Tokyo), here I come!

¹ The Japanese translation is my own.

今日から東京へプチ研究旅行にちょっと行ってまいります。東京に居る間、必ず立ち寄りたい場所は、

  1. 神保町の古本街
  2. 坪内逍遥記念演劇博物館
  3. 取り合えず、寄席二席ほど
特に面白い発見がありましたら、写真を撮ってiPhoneでアップしま〜す。
しばらく机の近くに居られないので、東京に居る間の「TODAY’S KOTOWAZA」をここに (上 ↑) アップさせていただきます。

今週の「THIS WEEK’S SENRYÛ」はオストラリアのシドニー市に住んでいるマークJ.さんに届けていただきました。

  • The month of flowers / color of red plum blossoms / I come from the bath.  花の月紅梅ごとき湯上がりや (ume no tsuki kôbai gotoki yu agari ya)。¹

マークさん、ナイスジョッブ & ありがとうございました!

それでは、江戸に行ってまいりま〜す。

¹ 日本語訳は僕のです。

Comments コメント

