Ushiro Kamikiri and Sumô 後ろ紙切りと相撲

Here’s a post just in time for the Osaka Grand Sumô Tournament, which will get underway on March 11.

In a recent post, I mentioned the yose art kamikiri (artistic paper cutting, an iromono act) and I thought it was no longer performed in the Kansai area. Well, browsing Twitter last night, I found a Kamigata hanashika who performs kamikiri, though with an interesting twist. Hayashiya Emimaru (Somemaru’s #9 deshi) does kamikiri, but he does it backwards! I guess this makes sense for somebody known for doing backflips on stage… (By the way, Emimaru also plays ukulele, the right way.)

Take a look below at the Tweets and pictures (all property of Hayashiya Emimaru).

今日のブログは3月11日に始まる大阪相撲場所にとてもナイスタイミング。

前のブログに色物である紙切りについて書き、関西の方にはもうないと思いましたが、昨夜Twitterを見ていたら、紙切りを演っている上方の噺家を見つけました。染丸師匠の9番弟子である林家笑丸さんなんです。紙切りというか、とても面白い工夫して「後ろ紙切り」を演っています。舞台でバック転することでも知られている笑丸さんにはぴったりかもしれませんね。笑(ところで、笑丸さんはウクレレも弾きます、普通に。)

ツイートと写真(全て笑丸さんのもの)をご覧ください。↓

林家笑丸 @emimaru_rakugo, 10:44pm February 25

大相撲の把瑠斗(ばると)さんを囲む会にて。私も後ろ紙切りでゲスト出演。郡山さんの隣で、把瑠斗さんも満面の笑顔(顔見えへんがな)(笑)。

At Baruto’s appreciation dinner. I was invited as a guest, to perform ushiro kamikiri. Sitting next to Kôriyama, Baruto has a huge smile on his face (Jeez, you can’t see his face!)(LOL).

林家笑丸 @emimaru_rakugo, 11:11pm February 25
大相撲の把瑠斗(ばると)さんを囲む会にて②。私も酒が入ったおじさん達に必要以上に囲まれ、それを乗り越えての紙切り。見てたお客さんが、「さすがプロですね!邪魔するおじさんを仕込むなんて」*仕込んでへんわ(笑)。でも楽しい思い出。
At Baruto’s appreciation dinner ②. I too was appreciated–a little too much–by a liquored-up older man. Once I got past that, I did kamikiri. Some of the guests watching said, “There’s a pro for you, making an old man like that part of the act.” *It wasn’t me using him! (LOL) Anyway, this is a fun memory.

林家笑丸 @emimaru_rakugo, 11:17pm February 25

大相撲の郡山(こおりやま)さんと。気は優しくて力持ち。お酒も強い力士さん。

With the sumô pro Kôriyama. A gentle-tempered powerhouse. This sumô wrestler is also powerful at drinking.

林家笑丸 @emimaru_rakugo, 11:28pm February 25

大相撲の把瑠斗(ばると)さん。とても気さくで明るい力士さん。大関でいらっしゃいます。

The sumô pro Baruto. He is a very open-hearted and cheerful sumô wrestler. He is an ôzeki [wrestler of the second-highest rank].

Matt Shores @KRakugoMe, 12:25am February 27

@emimaru_rakugo 笑丸さん、おはようございます。本当に楽しそうな仕事ですね。実は、僕の弟は少し把瑠都関に似ているかも… 相撲は無理ですけどね。逆紙切りてすごいですね。着物の方は大丈夫でしょうか。(^ー^)ノでは、おつかれさまでした。

Good morning, Emimaru. This looks like a really fun job. My brother kind of looks like Baruto… No way he could do sumô though. Wow, reverse kamikiri, impressive!  I wonder, is your kimono still in one piece? (^ー^)ノNice work!

林家笑丸 @emimaru_rakugo, 2:12am February 27

@KRakugoMe 着物は大丈夫でしたよー。気さくなお相撲さんとセレブなお客さんと、そこになぜか混じっていたやかましい酔っ払いのおじさんのハプニングストレスのおかげで、とても刺激的な一日でした(笑)。

Ye〜sss! My kimono was fine. Thanks to the time with friendly sumô wrestlers and celebrity guests, mixed with the stress from the run-in with the loud, drunk man,  it proved to be a very stimulating day (LOL).

Comments コメント

