With Knowledge Comes Joy 知るは喜びなり

Kakejiku by SomemaruOne of my greatest treasures is a hanging scroll (kakejiku) that Somemaru presented me with prior to my leaving Japan last March.

Somemaru has an incredible collection of kakejiku, so, when he gave me a long rectangular box wrapped in crêpe silk before I left, I wondered if it might not be a one from his collection. I opened the box and found a kakejiku, but I could not have been more surprised by what I saw!

The artist was Somemaru, and the subject was ME!

I couldn’t find the words to say…

I was so touched that I felt as if I was going to cry.

I love the work in general, but I especially appreciate the peacefulness with which Somemaru painted me. While my lips seem to be anticipating something, there is a perfect serenity to my eyes.

Sometimes, when I get caught up in the hustle and bustle of daily life, I like to gaze at this kakejiku. I admit that it is somewhat strange to gaze at myself, but this piece of art feels like a mirror that reflects something deeper, something more meaningful than an actual mirror might.

Somemaru’s art presents me in an emotional state of mind that I would like to arrive at.

The Japanese reads, “With Knowledge Comes Joy” (Shiru wa yorokobi nari). Since I am still in the middle of my learning, this is perfect.

This is a truly meaningful gift which I shall always treasure.

Thank you again Master Somemaru.

僕にとって最も大切な宝物は、昨年の三月に帰国する前に染丸師匠からいただいた掛け軸です。

師匠はすばらしい掛け軸のコレクションを持っていらっしゃいますが、出発する前にちりめんに巻かれた長方形の箱を渡してくださったときは、「えっ!もしかして〜」と思いました。箱を開けますと、掛け軸でしたが、それを拝見し とってもビックリしました。

画家は染丸師匠で、絵はナナナント僕の顔でした!

言葉がなかなか出ませんでした。

あまりの感激にスズの涙を流してしまいそうでした。

僕は師匠の作風がとても好きですが、特に好きなのはその絵の中から感じる「平和」です。この掛け軸の中の僕の唇は、何かを予想しているように見えますが、目は完全に落ち着いている。

日々の喧騒から逃れたいとき、この掛け軸を眺めることが好きなんです。自分の顔を絵で見ることは少し不思議なときもありますが、師匠の絵はなぜか鏡のように感じます。しかし、実際の鏡よりもっと深い、意味のあるものを映してくれるのです。

師匠の作品は、僕がそうでありたいと思う感情を映してくれている感じがします。

師匠が書いてくださった言葉なんですが、「知るは喜びなり」、僕はまだまだ勉強の途中なので、ぴったりですね。

とても深い、感激した贈り物で、僕の一生の宝物です。

師匠、重ねてお礼申し上げます。

Comments コメント

