Luring In Audiences 呼び込み

I am not a professional rakugo storyteller.

However, when I have opportunities to perform, I get an idea what professionals must have to go through from time to time — particularly those younger hanashika still working to build a fan base.

On Saturday, I went to the theater where I was to perform rakugo. It was my first time performing at this particular venue. I found my dressing room without too much trouble, changed into my kimono, and proceeded to the backstage area five minutes before going on.

Two very friendly stagehands put out my zabuton, kendai, and hizakakushi. As the time to enter time drew near, I noticed there was almost no sound coming from the audience. Perhaps two people conversing quietly…

“Have they opened the doors yet?” I asked the stagehands.

“Um, I’m not sure. It doesn’t sound like it…” one replied. “Do you happen to know where the emcee is?” he continued, asking me.

WHAT! Do I know where the emcee is?! How would I know where the emcee is? I started to get a touch worried.

“Well, I do have a tuxedo-like jacket,” the other stagehand kindly offered, “I suppose I could introduce you.”

Yet, there was almost nobody in the audience. This reminded me of a story that a pro hanashika once told me about having to do rakugo for just one person. “At least I have two,” I tried to comfort myself.

Fortunately, I had the cell phone number of the woman who invited me to perform. I called her.

“Hello, this is Matt.” I said very calmly.

“Hello, Matt? Are you there now?” she asked.

“Yes, it looks like we are running 15 minutes behind.” I told her as casually as possible. “You wouldn’t happen to know where the emcee is, would you? He’s missing.” I continued.

“Oh he’s here with me,” she said almost as casually. “I’ll send him over.”

A very good idea.

I figured it would take the emcee at least five minutes to arrive and get situated. I recalled that there were about 100 people outside on my way into the theater. I decided to run out to invite them in to listen to rakugo.

Good afternoon, everyone! What a beautiful day it is today!” I projected as best I could across the large square. “And what a beautiful day to share a few laughs! Won’t you come inside to hear me perform rakugo, Japanese comic storytelling? The show will start momentarily, and it will be in English!”

I approached every group and individual that I could find, then ran back into the theater. Almost as soon as I returned backstage my entrance music (Ishidan) began playing.

I entered, kneeled on the zabuton, and bowed. I clacked the kobyôshi on the kendai to get started and was thrilled to see 15 people already in the audience. As I progressed through my makura intro, more people made their way in, bringing the total to 50 or so.

I was so grateful that they came!

The story (“Morning Toiletries” Chôzu mawashi) went well. I had so much fun with this wonderful audience that my 45-minute set was over in the blink of an eye.

On this day I had to go outside of the venue to work for my audience. I beckoned people to come in and see me perform. This was a first for me.

It soon dawned on me that this is what many hanashika–especially young ones–have to do on a regular basis.

I learned from this that winning an audience is not easy, even if the show is free. This must especially be the case for professionals, who not only ask for time but also the cost of a ticket. This is how hanashika make their living. Hanashika therefore have to stay hungry, humble, train hard to be more interesting than rival entertainers, and foster relationships in and outside the yose.

I am glad that I was able to experience having to work for my audience on Saturday. I gained further respect for hanashika who wake up every day to devise new ways to win new fans and keep them coming back for more.

僕はプロの噺家ではありません。

しかし、落語を演る機会があると、プロ(特にファン層を増やそうとしている若手)が普段経験していることが分かるようなときもあります。

土曜日に落語をさせていただきましたが、その会場は初めてでした。無事に楽屋に入り、着物に着替えて、出番5分前に舞台の袖へ進みました。

とても親切な舞台係がいまして、座布団、見台、膝隠しを出していてくださいました。そして高座の時間が近づくと、客席からほとんど音がしないことに気づきました。ただ二人の観客が静かに話をしているような閑散さ。

「開場はまだでしょうか」と舞台係に聞いてみました。

「あのぉ、ちょっとわかりません。まだですねぇ。」とその人は返事をし、逆に僕に「ところで、司会はどこへ行ったか分かりますでしょうか。」と聞いてきました。

え~?!なぜ僕が…? 司会がどこに行ったかなんて分かりませんよ~。分かるわけないでしょ~。徐々に心配になってきました。

そしてもう一人の舞台係が「いやぁ、私、タキシードのようなジャケットがあって、あれでしたら、私が司会役をできないこともないですが… 」と言いました。優しい方ですけどね。

しかし、客席にはほとんど人はいません。あるプロの噺家から聞いた話を思い出しました。以前落語会でお客さんが一人しか来場しなかったときがあって、とはいえ落語を演らないわけにもいかないので、そのままマンツーマンで演ったそうです。「まぁ、僕の場合は少なくとも2人いるからねぇ。」と自らを慰めました。

幸い、担当者の方の携帯電話の番号を持ってきていたので、かけてみました。

「もしもし、こちらは本日落語をさせていただくマットと申します」と落ち着いて言いました。

「あ、マットさん、どうも。もう着きましたか。」

「はい、舞台の方は15分ほど遅れているそうですが…」とできるだけ平静を保って言ってみました。そして、「あの… 司会の方は、どちらにいらっしゃるかお分かりでしょうか。こちらにはいらっしゃらないんですが… 」

「あ、はいはい、司会はですね、今私のところにいます。」先方は全然慌てる様子がありません。「そちらに向かうように言っておきますね」と。

それはとてもいいアイディア…

司会が来て全てが整うまで5分ぐらいかかると思い、何とかお客さんを増やす方法はないかと考えました。確かに会場の表の広場に100人ぐらいいたので、外に向かって飛び出しました。そして呼び込みをすることを決意しました。

「皆様、こんにちは!本日は本当に気持ちのいいお天気ですね~!」できるだけ大きな声で繰り返しました。「こんな素敵な日に一緒に笑えたら最高ですね!これから、僕のラクゴ (ジャパニーズ スタイル ストーリーテリング)を聴いてくださいませんか~。英語で演りますが、間もなく始まりま~す。ぜひ、中の方へどうぞ~!」

広場にいた人々、一人一人に声をかけてからまた中へ急いで入りました。舞台の袖に着いた突端、出囃子「石段」が流れてきました。

舞台に出て、座布団に座って、お辞儀。見台に小拍子を叩いて、始めようとしたら、客席にもう15人ほど増えたことに気づきました。マクラを続けているうちにお客さんがどんどん入ってきて、結局50ぐらい入ってくださいました。

わぁ~、こんな嬉しいことはないなあ。

噺(手水廻し)は何とかうまくいき、お客さんは本当に良いお客さんでめっちゃ楽しかったです。45分の出番だったんですが、あっという間でした。

今回は今までと違い、高座の直前に外に出てお客さんが入ってくださるように自ら誘い込みをしました。このような呼び込みは、もちろん、初めての経験でした。

そして終わった後、あることに気づきました。(特に若手)噺家は定期的に呼び込みなどをしないといけないということです。

僕もこういう経験ができたおかげで、とても勉強になりました。例えば、イベントが無料でも、必ずしもお客さんがいるということは当たり前ではありません。プロの噺家の場合はもっと難しいと思います。なぜならば、お客さんの時間だけではなく、普段はお金を払っていただき、落語を商売にしているからです。ですから、噺家は出来るだけ謙虚でいながら、熱心に活躍しないといけません。また周りのライバル芸人にも負けず、より面白くなるように練習しないといけません。寄席内、寄席外の人間関係にも気をつけないといけないので、とても大変だと思います。

先日のような経験ができ、本当によかったです。噺家さんに対する尊敬の念を改めて強くした一日でした。

Comments コメント

