Big Names in Tokyo Rakugo & Setta 東京落語の名跡と雪駄

Seta from shop in Yanaka GinzaIt turns out that some prominent Tokyo rakugoka lived in my neighborhood. San’yûtei Enchô (1839-1900) lived about ten minutes from my place, as did Kokontei Shinshô V (1890-1973) and Kokontei Shinchô III (1938-2001). There are doubtless others, and I wouldn’t be surprised if other rakugoka still live in this great old area of town.

I stopped at a Japanese sandal shop in the Yanaka Ginza yesterday and had a nice conversation with the owner. She is the fourth-generation owner/ sandal maker, and the shop has been there for more than a hundred years. If I remember correctly, she said it was established in Meiji 24 (1891). She said many rakugoka buy their sandals (setta) here, so I decided this would be a good place to get a new pair, too.

I also bought a pair of geta at this shop!

僕が今住んでいる近所に、有名な東京落語家が住んでいたということが分かりました。僕の部屋から10分ぐらい行ったところに、三遊亭 圓朝 (1839-1900)をはじめ、5代目古今亭 志ん生 (1890-1973)も3代目古今亭 志ん朝 (1938-2001)も住んでいたらしい。とても雰囲気のいい古い下町で、他にも住んでいたでしょう。今もすんでいると言われたらびっくりしませんね。

昨日、谷中銀座という商店街の中にある雪駄屋さんに寄ってみまして、その店主と興味深い話をしました。4代目の職人さんで、お店は100年以上続いているそうです。僕の記憶が正しければ、お店は明治24年(1891)に設立されました。彼女の話によると多くの落語家はこのお店で雪駄を買っているそうす。なので、ここで僕も新しい雪駄を買うことにしました。

このお店で下駄も買いましたよ〜!

Comments コメント

